personal mission

About a year ago while I was serving on staff at a church, I was asked to write a formal statement of personal mission. The following is a portion of what ended up on paper:

I exist to glorify God as I am being conformed into
the image of Christ and as I am representing Him in this world.

First, “I exist to glorify God.”  I was created for and called to that purpose. I live in His world and within His plans. Glorifying God includes acknowledging His presence and work in my life and in the world around me as well as praising Him for all He is and all He does.

Next, “being conformed into the image of Christ.”  Because of the life, death, and resurrection of Jesus, I not only have a salvation with eternal hope but I have a salvation with intentional identity.  God is continually shaping me to look more like Jesus through His Word, the work of His Spirit, and the influence of His people.

Last, “representing Him in this world.”  My life is to be lived in a way that is the tangible expression of God’s love and grace.  From helping people with everyday needs to simply offering words of encouragement or prayer, my actions and attitude should lead others to know more about God and point them to Him as the Source of all things good.

~ by kentuckyfaithful on March 31, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
