Together For the Gospel

It’s been more than a week now since I was in Louisville for Together For the Gospel and I still haven’t fully processed what I experienced.  I knew when I signed up that I needed to be there (regardless of the fact that I would be a serious minority as a woman – maybe 10%) but I am only beginning to realize just how much I needed it.  I’ll be sharing a little of my learning in the next few posts, but here are a few things from the conference that made an impression on me:

  • The diversity among pastors in attendance (denominations, cultures, ages) from all over the world was so encouraging.  Truly a visual of the what the results of Jesus’ prayer in John 17 should look like.
  • The first time we all stood to sing together, I was quite overwhelmed – I’ve never been in a room with over 5,000 men who were boldly proclaiming the gospel message in song – I wasn’t even able to sing because I was so aware of the Spirit’s presence in that place – I just stood and listened and imagined what the world would be like if more men would stand up and be the men of God that they were created to be!
  • When I was looking at the ESV Bibles in the bookstore and considering the purchase of a small one, I couldn’t help but overhear one of the bookstore workers telling someone that “John Piper switched his whole church to the ESV” – later when I asked why the ESV would be a preferable translation, the same lady responded with “You know John Piper?  Well he had his whole church change to this Bible and if it’s good enough for John Piper, it’s good enough for me.”   Interesting the kinds of far reaching impact one man can have.  (And yet, somehow I don’t think that’s the answer John Piper would have given.) 
  • The gospel was preached with passion and urgency as an example, as an inspiration, and as a call to those pastors who have been preaching and ministering in the name of Jesus without full surrender to the cross of Jesus.
  • The desire of those leading – Al Mohler, CJ Mahaney, Ligon Duncan, Mark Dever, John MacArthur, John Piper, RC Sproul, Thabiti Anyabwile – was for those in attendance to be equipped to boldly and effectively share the gospel with their words and their actions.  To that end, they sacrificed time with their families, gave away multiple thousands of dollars in resources, shared their stories with brutal honesty, and opened themselves up for questions.  How refreshing it was to not hear explanations of the latest ministry trends or programs or models, but to simply hear about and rejoice in JESUS!

You can listen to all of the messages through the Together For the Gospel website – but be ready for God to move in you as you listen!

~ by kentuckyfaithful on April 25, 2008.

One Response to “Together For the Gospel”

  1. So glad you were able to go to this event. AND . . . So glad you are a woman that goes to these kind of events. Hope you continue. Beautiful pictures on this blog. I really like the one of the farm and sunset.

Leave a Reply

 
